Happy Birthday, Garbo Laughs!

Guess what, little chickadees? Today happens to be Garbo Laughs’ first anniversary. Yup! This here itty bitty blog is one year old today, October 1. And oh, what a year it’s been. Following in the footsteps of some of my fellow bloggers, I thought I’d take this chance to look back on my first 365 days of blogging as a sort of summary retrospective. Some of you have been with me the whole time, but many more of you are new. Come along with me, won’t you, as we laugh, cry, and roll our eyes through the first twelve months of this blog’s life.

October 2010
I formally introduced myself to the classic film blogging world for the first time (since that old collaborative Blog That Shall Not Be Named never really did get off the ground fully). My original plan for Garbo Laughs was to pick a theme each month – sometimes seasonal or topical, sometimes randomly drawn from a hat – and review a minimum of four films pertaining to said theme. Great idea, while it lasted. That first October my theme was, appropriately enough, Horror, and I managed to review one film from each decade from the 1910s to the 1980s. Wow! I was sure full of vim and vigor back then. I also introduced regular features such as Born This Month, TCM This Week, Music Monday, and Friday Glam Spam.
Reviews: Frankenstein (1910); The Fall of the House of Usher (1928); White Zombie (1932); The Seventh Victim (1943); House On Haunted Hill (1959); Strait-Jacket (1964); Burnt Offerings (1976); Little Shop of Horrors (1986)

November 2010
I tried valiantly to continue my theme-of-the-month idea with Native Americans, but completely pooped out towards the end. I saw Katie’s Corner LIVE and reviewed it. My girlfriend Molly made this Pokemon-Hitchcock crossover diorama and allowed me to share it.
Reviews: Hombre (1967); Tonka (1958); Nanook of the North (1922)

December 2010
As morbid as it sounds, In Memoriam was one of my favorite themes, and I’ll definitely be repeating it this year. Towards the end of the month I got a job at a movie theater, but given that I passed out at work within the first week, it didn’t last long (don’t ask). I quietly phased out TCM This Week and Music Monday.
Reviews: Poltergeist (1982); Georgy Girl (1966); Stormy Weather (1943); Queen of Blood (1966)

January 2011
Happy New Year! Since I wasn’t able to finish it in December, I continued In Memoriam, and I’m glad I did. I was also admitted into the Classic Movie Blog Association (yay!) and participated in their stupendous Hitchcock Blogathon. I reviewed a book, something I want to do a lot more of in the blog’s second year. And I introduced Instant Classics.
Reviews: Hud (1963); Tokyo Godfathers (2003); The 39 Steps (1935); Penny Serenade (1941); Of Human Bondage (1934)

February 2011
Where the hell did I go in February? I have no idea. I finally did away with the monthly theme idea entirely (except for sporadic events). I introduced the “regular feature” Short Stories which hasn’t been seen since – another thing I plan to correct in year two! And I was fortunate enough to participate in the marvelous For the Love of Film (Noir) blogathon.
Reviews: No Way Out (1950); The Three Faces of Eve (1957)

March 2011
I posted some pretty pictures for Jean Harlow’s centenary. I took a headcount of parties interested in my crazy Queer Film Blogathon idea. I blogged my ass off for Japan. I paid tribute to Elizabeth Taylor. And I won a Stylish Blogger Award!
Reviews: Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind (1984); Porco Rosso (1992); Pom Poko (1994); Whisper of the Heart (1995); The Cat Returns (2002)

April 2011
I suffered through the White Elephant Blogathon, I played a little prank, and then I promptly disappeared until May.
Reviews: Feeding Boys, Ayaya (2003)

May 2011
I officially announced the Queer Film Blogathon and contributed to the CMBA’s Movies of 1939 Blogathon.
Reviews: The Rules of the Game (1939)

June 2011
I went all out (pardon the pun) for the Queer Film Blogathon, posting reviews, Glam Spams, vintage magazine scans, original articles, and more. The actual event occurred on June 27th and went swimmingly, phenomenally well, if I do say so myself.
Reviews: Different from the Others (1919); Salomé (1923); Maedchen in Uniform (1931); Rope (1948); Rebel Without A Cause (1955); The Killing of Sister George (1968); The Christine Jorgensen Story (1970); Can’t Stop the Music (1980); The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994)

July 2011
Plumb tuckered out from June, I did manage to get in a review for the ’50s Monster Mash Blogathon. I was also admitted to the Large Association of Movie Blogs!
Reviews: Diabolique (1955); 20 Million Miles to Earth (1957)

August 2011
Real life got in the way, but I rallied for the Loving Lucy Blogathon!
Reviews: The Big Street (1942)

September 2011
…let’s not talk about it.

That was my first year of blogging! In all that time I got 23,626 hits, 712 comments, and churned out 142 posts, 41 of them being movie reviews. Not too shabby! Here are a few other statistics you may find interesting:

Average views per day, 2010: 19
Average views per day, 2011: 80
Busiest day: June 27th, 2011 – 1,214 hits
Top post: Queer Film Blogathon announcement – 1,351 hits
Top review: The Three Faces of Eve (1957) – 390 hits

Top five search terms: Conrad Veidt (292), Garbo Laughs (211), Dorothy Lamour (98), Paul Newman (93), Christine Jorgensen (91)

Top five commenters: me (250), Kim (21), Lillian (20), Christianne (19), Brandie (17), Becky (17), Page (17) (three-way tie for fifth!)

Overall, despite a few bumps and bruises, I thoroughly enjoyed my first year here at Garbo Laughs and am eager to start the second. There’s a lot of things I plan to improve about the blog, and about my interaction with the blogging community – New Year’s resolutions, if you will. For one, I really need to comment more! I know this, but once I get behind I can just never seem to catch up. (Answer: suck it up, or just don’t get behind.) I’d also like to really hone my focus to strictly classic films, from the period 1920-1970, and have less of those 1980s, 1990s, and 2000s stragglers getting in the way. Mostly I just want to watch and review more. I own a ridiculous amount of movies I haven’t even seen yet. There’s definitely no dearth of material – I just need to make more time for movie-watching in my life. Don’t we all?

Lastly, I’d like to thank all of you who read this blog, old and new, but especially the older ones who have stuck with me for so long. I really appreciate your support and friendship. I’m so happy to have found other people out there – mostly women, mostly my age – who enjoy rambling on about old movies as much as I do. You’re all classy, fabulous geniuses, every last one of you. Don’t ever forget it.

Alright, I’m done with this self-congratulatory stuff. As always, comments, critiques, and suggestions are welcome.

Next Post

20 Comments

  1. Happy blogaversary!

  2. A very happy birthday to one fabulous film site. :)

  3. Happy Birthday!

  4. Caroline, we of Team Bartilucci are thrilled to wish you a Happy Blogaversary! I must admit that while I’ve enjoyed all the blogs I’ve read by you (though I know I haven’t left nearly as many comments as I should have, and for that I sincerely apologize), I still have a special place in my heart for “Did You Think You Were God, Pikachu?”! Here’s to many more great blog posts from you in the years to come!

    • Thank you! Don’t worry about not commenting enough, I have a pretty bad track record with that myself. I’m so glad you enjoyed that silly post!

  5. That’s an eventful first year! Congratulations.

  6. Happy Birthday to you!! :D Congrats on celebrating your first year!

  7. Backlots

     /  October 2, 2011

    Happy birthday Garbo Laughs!! You’re the best!
    Love,
    Backlots.

  8. Wooo happy blog birthday! Here’s wishing you many more wonderful posts on this special day :)

  9. Congratulations and happy blogday anniversary!

  10. Sorry I haven’t commented on this. I’ve been kind of juggling a ton of stuff over on my own blog this month. But Happy Birthday. Yours is one of my favorite blogs out there.

    And pardon my insane envy at your traffic. You deserve every bit of it.

    • Thank you so much for the very flattering words. :) No need to apologize — I’m MONTHS behind in the commenting department myself. Working on it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

