Queer Film Blogathon: That’s a Wrap!

The 2012 Queer Film Blogathon has now come to a close, and boy am I tuckered out. We ended up with 45 posts from 29 different bloggers, with contributions covering 98 years of cinema from all around the world — amazing!! While last year’s event had about 60 contributions, I must say, what we lacked this year in quantity we more than made up for in quality. (No shade to last year’s group — but the caliber of this year’s posts was really off the charts!) I’d like to thank all of the wonderful participants for their insightful, witty, and thought-provoking posts. You are all my heroes. I haven’t finished reading everyone’s contributions yet, but I plan to comment on every single one. If you get a chance, remember it’s not too late to keep the party going by reading some of the other posts and leaving your two cents. Everybody loves comments!

I’d also like to thank my partner in crime Andreas over at Pussy Goes Grrr for helping me to pull it off. Wonderful having you on board this year, Andreas!

And congratulations to raffle winner Jake Cole of Not Just Movies who, by the grace of the random number generator, shall be receiving The Celluloid Closet by Vito Russo.

Tomorrow I’ll be posting a late contribution to the event by my best friend Lillian Behrendt, who is sharing with us her thoughts on Rainer Werner Fassbinder’s The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant (1972). Wish I could get it up today but, like I said, tuckered. (As most of you in the classic film blogging/Twitter family know, it’s been one helluva week!)

After that I’m going to be taking a teeny tiny break from blogging, but shall return in July. Again, thank you, thank you, thank you all for making this event such a roaring success. Hope we’ll see you again next year!

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for hosting the ‘thon again this year, Caroline (and Andreas, too)! Always a pleasure to participate!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

