Music Monday: Cary Grant Sings… Kind Of

I realize that it’s already January 3, but it’s never too late to send best wishes. Thinking about the New Year made me remember this delightful recording of Cary Grant singing… err, talking to music, and wishing us all good tidings in various languages from around the world. This comes from a 45rpm he made in 1967, “Here’s to You” being the B-side to his “Christmas Lullaby.” He recorded these for his only child Jennifer, who had just been born to his fourth wife Dyan Cannon. (Does anybody else have trouble remembering that Cary Grant had a child with Dyan Cannon?!?) I was surprised I couldn’t find “Here’s to You” already on YouTube, so I took five minutes out of my busy day to make this very slapdash “video.” It’s, um, not exactly my most successful creative endeavor, but the point was to share the song. CaryGrant.net has downloadable MP3s available of both “Here’s to You” and “Christmas Lullaby.” Enjoy!

Cary Grant and Dyan Cannon with baby Jennifer

Image Source: Noir and Chick Flicks
Next Post

6 Comments

  1. I had no idea this existed, thanks for sharing!! I love Cary.

  2. What an interesting tidbit of info. I had no idea that he recorded something for his daughter. I don’t have a tough time remembering that he sired Jennifer, but I do often forget that her mother is Dyan Cannon. Cannon has a great sense of humor; I’m not surprised that CG and DC would get along well.

    • Same here — I don’t forget that he had a daughter, but I do forget that her mother is Dyan Cannon. Unfortunately from what I’ve read, and what the custody battle demonstrates, it wasn’t a very happy marriage. However, Jennifer had her first child just a year or two ago and named him Cary in honor of her dad.

      Thank you kindly for the comment!

  3. Karen

     /  October 9, 2013

    hank you so much for posting this. I have been looking for it and just came upon this tonight. It’s lovely!

    • Karen

       /  October 9, 2013

      Of course, I meant “Thank you.” I guess I was too excited about finding it.

