Coming Soon: For the Love of Film (Noir)

First of all, a show of gratitude and a hearty CONGRATULATIONS to all the Classic Movie Blog Association members who made last Monday’s Hitchcock Blogathon such a rousing success. I thoroughly enjoyed reading everyone’s posts and was touched by all the thoughtful comments on my own contribution. In fact, my first blogathon was such a positive experience, I’ve decided to jump right in and add my name to another one!

For the Love of Film (Noir), hosted by bloggers Ferdy on Films and The Self-Styled Siren, is a fundraising effort for the very worthy cause of film preservation. Last year’s For the Love of Film blogathon, the first of its kind, resulted in 108 contributions from 81 bloggers and raised $30,000 (!!!) for the National Film Preservation Foundation, receiving on-screen credit for the restoration of two important silent shorts from the 1910s. For this year’s blogathon, the focus is specifically on the genre of film noir, and the recipient of the funds shall be the Film Noir Foundation, which will put the money to use restoring the 1950 BAFTA-nominated drama The Sound of Fury, directed by Cy Endfield and starring Frank Lovejoy and Lloyd Bridges. (An unrestored version of the film is currently available for viewing on Netflix Instant, if you’d like to see what we’re working to save.) You can click on the image at left to go to Ferdy’s blog, where you will find much more information on the film, the noble work of the Film Noir Foundation, and this magnificent blogger-driven effort to preserve an important piece of cinema history.

I’m not as knowledgeable about film noir as I’d like to be – which is exactly why I want to participate in this blogathon. I want to help preserve this important genre so that young people like me can continue to have the chance to learn from it. As for what film I’ll be reviewing, you’ll have to wait and see. That post will go up sometime during the blogathon week, February 14-21 (and don’t worry, I’ll remind you it’s coming). If you’d like to get a jump on things, you can make a donation to the Film Noir Foundation here. This is a communal effort by the participating bloggers, but it cannot succeed without the help of the readers. So I hope you’ll join me in supporting this worthy cause when the blogathon week rolls around.

3 Comments

  1. Page

     /  January 24, 2011

    I can’t wait to see which film you’ve chosen for the Blogathon Caroline! It sounds like a great cause and I can’t wait to donate once it gets under way. : )
    Page

  2. Awesome! Congrats on the blogathon success.

