ABC: All the Best Cinema

Inspired by Meredith, Angela, and Brandie, I’ve decided to do my own cinematic alphabet. Boy, this was harder than I thought it’d be! But ultimately I’m satisfied with my choices. There are some classics and some more modern fare, some of the typical biggies that you’d expect and a few more obscure choices (which I hope you’ll check out based on my recommendation). Taken all together, I think these films give a pretty good idea of who I am – not only as a film fan, but as a person. So here it is: my favorite films, from A-Z. Remember: these are my favorite films, and I hold each one of them very dear; you’re free to disagree, but please be kind. :)

A is for…

The Apple (1980)

B is for…

Battlefield Earth (2000)

C is for…

Can’t Stop the Music (1980)

D is for…

Death Bed: The Bed That Eats (1977)

E is for…

Eegah (1962)


G is for…

Ghoulies (1985)

H is for…

Howard the Duck (1986)

I is for…

It’s Pat (1994)

J is for…

Jaws 3-D (1983)

K is for…

Krakatoa: East of Java (1969)

L is for…

Leprechaun 4: In Space (1997)

M is for…

Mac and Me (1988)

N is for…

Night of the Lepus (1972)

O is for…

Operation Kid Brother (1967)

P is for…

Prince of Space (1959)

Q is for…

Q: The Winged Serpent (1982)

R is for…

Reefer Madness (1936)

S is for…

Showgirls (1995)

T is for…

Theodore Rex (1995)

U is for…

Uninvited (1988)

V is for…

The Vampire Lovers (1970)

W is for…

Waterworld (1995)

X is for…

Xanadu (1980)


Z is for…

Zardoz (1974)

Happy April Fools’ Day! :)
I hope you enjoyed this little poster collection. I’d like to thank the good people at the Razzies, Badmovies.org, and “Mystery Science Theater 3000” for inspiration and assistance in compiling this list.
If I really did do my A-Z list of favorites, believe it or not, one of these movies would keep its spot.
Can anyone guess which one?

22 Comments

    • Probably yes, since it’s the only movie that comes to mind that starts with X, but it wasn’t the one I was referring to as I’ve never actually seen it!

  1. Watch out for snakes!

  2. Brandie

     /  April 1, 2011

    I was going to guess Xanadu, too, if only because there are so few choices for X, and at least it has Gene Kelly.

    I kinda figured out what was going on by the time I scrolled down to Death Bed: The Bed That Eats (really? There is really a movie of such a title? I must check this out). But I seriously enjoyed the trip back through the worst Hollywood has had to offer us over the years.

    And now to admit to something that will likely get me tarred and feathered: Showgirls is one of my guilty pleasure movies. I think it’s a criminally underrated piece of satirical camp. *hides head*

    • That’s not the one, although if I did a serious list, I’d probably sit down and finally watch Xanadu just to have something filled in for X.

      I haven’t seen all of these movies — sadly I only just found out about Death Bed: The Bed That Eats in researching for this post, but it sounds great — but a lot of them actually are guilty pleasures, and nothing as fabulous as Showgirls. Hell, I own two of these movies, not even in MST3K form. And though I don’t own it, I’ve somehow seen It’s Pat a stupid amount of times…

  3. Page

     /  April 1, 2011

    LOL…. Good one Caroline! As soon as I saw Battlefield Earth then Waterworld I thought for a second you had lost it! Happy April Fools Day

    • I actually loooooved Waterworld as a kid. Haven’t been able to make it through Battlefield Earth yet though…

  4. I’m new to your blog and I was like, “wow, really? Maybe I’d better unfollow…I am so not into these types of movies. This looks like a list of worst movies” LOL. I’m very gullible!

    • Haha I’m sorry I scared you! I thought of not revealing the joke at all, but I didn’t want people to think I had terrible taste. :)

  5. What a great list! Night of the Lepus – I showed this to my grandkids, and my 14-year old grandson thought it was a hoot…my 10-year old granddaughter was scared! Reefer Madness and Krakatoa, East of Java are probably my favorites on this weird-fun movie list! And as for Xanadu, I took my boys to see it when they were young teenagers, and they love it to this day! Must be a nostalgia thing for them — I thought it was pretty awful really! But now, it’s a real trip through one of the more unusal aspects of the disco era, skating. And the hair and clothes — well worth seeing just for that!

    • Krakatoa, East of Java is also one of my favorites on this list! It’s one of the two of these titles that I actually own!

  6. Lillian Behrendt

     /  April 1, 2011

    Am I allowed to guess? I know the answer but I’m not sure if knowing you counts as cheating or not.

    (And ewww Mac and Me)

    • No, you’re not allowed! Although it’s totally listed as one of my favorite films on my About The Blog page so it’s not that mysterious.

      It makes me weep just seeing the Mac and Me poster.

  7. KC

     /  April 1, 2011

    Ooh, The Apple and Can’t Stop the Music–two cheesefests that I watch over and over. I just discovered The Apple this year and I can’t believe it took me that long to find out about it. I like enough of your choices that I may have to check out some of the titles here I haven’t seen!

    • I was so into The Apple in high school! It’s just too weird for me not to love. I’m going to give it away now and say that, if I were to post my real list, Can’t Stop the Music is the one that would stay where it is. Weird but true, it’s one of my favorite movies.

      Also I can’t vouch for all of these titles; I’ve seen quite a few, others I want to see, and some I just discovered today and chose because I liked the posters. I am not responsible for any damage incurred from watching these films!

  8. It’s gotta be Q The Winged Serpent. I love Q.

    True story: Sam Arkoff was asked about this movie in an interview some time after it came out. The reporter told Arkoff, admiringly, that he thought there was a terrific method performance by Michael Moriarty in Q surrounded by all the schlock. Arkoff replied: “The schlock was my idea.”

    • Brilliant. I haven’t actually seen Q yet, but after watching the trailer it instantly went to the top of my queue.

  9. Jody Arthur

     /  April 4, 2011

    I’ve seen Zardoz! (well, actually I got through maybe 15 minutes and gave up).

    • I got through like an hour and then gave up. I kept expecting it to make sense the longer I watched it. Silly, naive me.

  10. Surely, you must be a big fan of Mystery Science Theater 3000. If that’s the case, you should have made room for Manos: The Hands of Fate and Santa Claus Conquers the Martians. Battlefield Earth is one of the funniest Rifftrax episodes (MST3K alumni) ever made; if you haven’t heard it, then check it out.

    • I am almost too big of a fan of MST3K; I was tempted to compile this list just from movies featured in MST3K episodes, but that would’ve been a cop-out. Manos was totally in the rough draft, but then I remembered Mac and Me and there was just no contest. (Yes, Manos is bad, but Mac is worst-nightmare-bad.)

  11. I love this list! YOR! Yes! OPERATION KID BROTHER I must see!

