2012 QUEER FILM BLOGATHON

Ho. Lee. Crap. Can you even handle this gorgeous My Favorite Wife artwork done for me by the amaaaaaaaazing Mollybot? I think I love it even more than last year’s Rebel Without a Cause piece. THANK YOU MOLLY. I’M GOING TO TATTOO IT ON MY FACE.

Alright, folks! This is the place! Comment below with a link to your post(s) and I will put them all up here as official contributions to the Queer Film Blogathon 2012, co-hosted of course by the lovely Pussy Goes Grrr. (Why do I feel like I’m going to get a lot of misplaced traffic from putting that adjective next to the first word of that site name?) Remember, you can also enter our raffles for a copy of The Celluloid Closet (from me) and Celluloid Gaze (from PGG).

If you’re wondering where my contributions are, honey, they all happened last week: Dracula’s Daughter (1936), My Favorite Wife (1940), Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958), Victim (1961), and Together Brothers (1974). Give ’em a gander if you’re so inclined.

Without further self-promotion ado, let the blogathon begin!!! If you run into any problems with leaving a comment, or if I missed your post, don’t hesitate to send me an email at Garbo.Laughs.Blog@gmail.com or tweet me at @GarboLaughsBlog.

Friday, June 22 (Day 5)

Stacia of the world-famous She Blogged By Night (is it world-famous? it should be) joins us on this final blogathon day asking some tough questions about the cultural endurance of Freebie and the Bean (1974).

The Filmatelist compares Beautiful Thing (1996) and Happy Together (1997).

Christianne tells us about a fascinating documentary about gays and lesbians in Uganda in her review of Call Me Kuchu (2012).

Yvette from in so many words… holds our hands through the heartbreak of Brokeback Mountain (2005).

Joseph over at the Queer Film Blog (you mean you get to do this kinda fun stuff all year ’round?!?) provides us with a delightful queer interpretation of Ridley Scott’s Prometheus (2012).

Mary tells us why Todd Haynes’ glam rock extravaganza Velvet Goldmine (1998) is one of her favorite films.

Margaret is back to share with us 5 Films That Changed the Way We View Sexuality.

Brandie returns to ruin enhance all our childhoods by queering Disney!

Thursday, June 21 (Day 4)

Peter Nellhaus joins us one more time with his review of the 2009 Japanese drama Kakera: A Piece of Our Lives.

Christianne also returns (and is definitely a shoe-in for the Most Prolific Blogathoner Award) to share her impressions of The Wise Kids (2011).

My brilliant partner Molly (who is also responsible for our official Queer Film Blogathon artwork above) just saw Psycho (1960) for the first time and writes about why reading Norman Bates as queer is homophobic. THANK YOU MOLLY!

Chris Edwards over at Silent Volume re-posts his review of Wilhelm Dieterle’s Sex in Chains (1928).

Jesse Ataide of Memories of the Future provides us with an excellent queer re-imagining of His Kind of Woman (1951)!

The lovely Lê is back with a look at “devious” queer characters in the cinema of the 1950s.

The incomparable Brandie of True Classics reviews Barbara Stanwyck’s turn as a female prison inmate in Ladies They Talk About (1933).

Good friend Ivan of Thrilling Days of Yesteryear contributes a review of the quirky romantic comedy Different for Girls (1996).

Wednesday, June 20 (Day 3)

Sam has got us covered with his Top 5 LGBT Themed Films over at A World of Gods and Monsters (itself a hat tip to gay director James Whale and his brilliantly-camp Bride of Frankenstein).

Christianne continues her excellent series of contributions with a look at several trans documentary features, what they get right and what they get embarrassingly wrong.

The wonderfully insightful Stephanie Hammer at Magically Real shares with us her reminiscences of John Schlesinger’s Sunday Bloody Sunday (1971).

Wednesday’s Child joins the party with a review of Heaven’s a Drag (1994), a gay-themed supernatural romance.

What Happened to Hollywood tucks us into bed with a worrying question: did homophobic bullying contribute to Rudolph Valentino’s untimely death?

Tuesday, June 19 (Day 2)

Joseph starts off Day 2 with a bang as he explores Susan Sontag’s infamous “Notes on ‘Camp'” in relation to Marlene Dietrich and Josef von Sternberg.

Peter Nellhaus of the awesomely-named Coffee coffee and more coffee takes us to Thailand with his review of Yes or No? (2010), touted as that country’s “first lesbian romance.”

Jake Cole from Not Just Movies is back for another round as he looks at Fassbinder’s In a Year of 13 Moons (1978).

Christianne Benedict again graces us with her presence and a review of Bernie (2012) starring Shirley MacLaine and Jack Black.

The fabulous Angela over at The Hollywood Revue takes us all the way back to 1914 with the silent gender-bending comedy A Florida Enchantment.

Monday, June 18 (Day 1)

The always-insightful Christianne over at Krell Laboratories has started the celebration early by sharing her musings on Tomboy (2011), Bound (1996), The King and the Clown (2005), Open (2010), and Weekend (2011).

My dear friend Lara over at Backlots explores the queer side of our beloved Greta Garbo in her review of Queen Christina (1933).

Rich of Wide Screen World takes a look at director George Cukor and five notable women he made shine on the screen.

The Lady Eve joins us with an excellent profile of movie songwriter Jack Lawrence.

Sarah, the newest member of the True Classics crew, kicks things off by comparing and contrasting Lillian Hellman’s controversial play The Children’s Hour with two big-screen adaptations.

Richard Finch writes about Rainer Werner Fassbinder’s Fox and His Friends (1975) on his fantastic blog The Movie Projector, where the William Wyler Blogathon begins June 24.

Jake Cole at Not Just Movies join us with his analysis of Todd Haynes’ feature film debut Poison (1991).

Margaret Perry of The Great Katharine Hepburn jumps into her very first blogathon (welcome to the cult, Margaret!) with her post on Sylvia Scarlett (1935).

Kevyn Knox of The Most Beautiful Fraud in the World re-posts a “retro review” of Brokeback Mountain (2005) written right after the film’s release.

Lê of Crítica Retrô graces us with a post on Sylvia Scarlett (1935) and Yentl (1983) — em Português! Just click on the handy translator widget in the sidebar to transform the post into the language of your choice using the magic of Google.

Marc Heuck writes about By Hook or By Crook (2001) on his blog The Projector Has Been Drinking.

From The Depths of DVD Hell come C.R.A.Z.Y. (2005), Nowhere (1997), The Doom Generation (1995), and Kaboom (2010), all by Elwood Jones.

34 Comments

  1. Rich

     /  June 18, 2012

    A profile on director George Cukor:
    http://widescreenworld.blogspot.com/2012/06/george-cukor-and-his-women.html
    Thanks much!

  2. Our first post! Sarah looks at the film versions of THE CHILDREN’S HOUR: http://t.co/K4tDwHIb

  3. My post for the Queer Film Blogathon 2012, on Rainer Werner Fassbinder’s “Fox and His Friends” is now up at The Movie Projector:
    http://www.themovieprojector.blogspot.com/

  4. Here is a look at Brokeback Mountain fro The Most Beautiful Fraud in the World.

    http://themostbeautifulfraudintheworld.blogspot.com/2012/06/retro-review-brokeback-mountain-2005.html

  5. Hi, Caroline! This is my post about crossdressing: http://criticaretro.blogspot.com.br/2012/01/sylvia-scarlett-e-yentl-meio-seculo-de.html
    It’s easy to translate with the tool in the sidebar.
    And I couldn’t resist to write another piece… I’ll post it by Thursday, OK?
    Can’t wait to read the other posts!
    Le

  6. My review of Weekend is up. Here’s the link: http://krelllabs.blogspot.com/2012/06/boy-meets-boy.html

    Also, is there a twitter hashtag for the blogathon?

    • You can use #QueerFilmBlogathon, although it seems like I’m the only one using it.

  7. Here is mine, ruminating on the 2001 drama BY HOOK OR BY CROOK:
    http://projectorhasbeendrinking.blogspot.com/2012/06/duality-of-dodge.html

  8. Okay here is my review for the painfully overlooked “C.R.A.Z.Y” aswell as Gregg Araki’s Nowhere, The Doom Generation and Kaboom

    C.R.A.Z.Y – http://fromthedepthsofdvdhell.blogspot.co.uk/2011/01/crazy.html

    Nowhere – http://fromthedepthsofdvdhell.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/nowhere.html

    The Doom Generation – http://fromthedepthsofdvdhell.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/doom-generation.html

    Kaboom – http://fromthedepthsofdvdhell.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/kaboom.html

  9. Thanks again for hosting this event! This year, I’m addressing Susan Sontag’s “Notes on ‘Camp'” in relation to Marlene Dietrich and Josef von Sternberg’s film collaborations:
    http://lastgoddess.blogspot.com/2012/06/queer-blogathon-2012-marginalia-on-note.html

  10. Well, here’s the bad news: I’m having trouble posting on my blog. So until further notice there will be no new posts appearing. At least until I can figure out what’s wrong. A thousand apologies, Caroline. I meant to post for the Blogathon on Thursday but unless I can figure out what ails my program, that’s not going to be possible.

    The good news: My daughter the computer expert will be by on Friday morning to take a look and figure things out and I’ll still be able to post for the Blogathon on Friday afternoon. Just under the wire.

    Again, I apologize. Google-blogger strikes again! Well, at least I can check everybody else’s posts and leave comments….I think. :)

    • Oh dear. Good luck, Yvette! Just under the wire posts are definitely appreciated too. :)

  11. I should have added a ‘hopefully’ about Friday’s fix-it attempt. I’m hoping for the best.

  12. Here’s my contribution, a review of the 1994 indie dramedy Heaven’s a Drag: http://initforthekills.com/2012/06/20/heavens-a-drag-aka-to-die-for/
    Thank you!

  13. Enjoying the blogathon. I think I may’ve found inspiration after reading some of the posts.

  14. Finally got mine up! A queer “re-imagining of” the Mitchum/Russell kinda-noir His Kind of Woman!

    his kind of… man?

    Loving all the contributions so far!

    -jesse

  15. Here I go again, this time with an issue I always wanted to write about: gay characters as villains! http://criticaretro.blogspot.com.br/2012/06/gay-bad-and-ugly-desvios-de-sexualidade.html
    It’s being a delight to read the contributions.
    Le

  16. I managed to find the movie I had originally planned to do for the ‘thon…so here ’tis:

    http://thrillingdaysofyesteryear.blogspot.com/2012/06/2012-queer-film-blogathon-different-for.html

  17. One day, I’m going to get a blogathon entry up before Ivan. This is not that day.

    Here’s my entry:

    http://shebloggedbynight.com/?p=68

  18. Okay Caroline, I made it under the deadline. Phew….! My post on Brokeback Mountain is finally on the blog. Better late than never, I hope. :) Don’t know how to do live links, so here’s the blog address:

    http://yvettecandraw.blogspot.com/2012/06/its-been-long-time-since-ive-allowed.html

    I did link back to you, Caroline. That much I am handy enough to do.

  19. Well, waddayouknow, your program automatically makes a link. Fabulous!

  20. Caroline,
    Love the artwork and I look forward to reading everyone’s post although I’m a bit late getting started. Although the ones I’ve read so far have been fantastic contributions.

    It looks like your event is even more popular this year than last if that’s even possible. Great fun and such a great idea for a Blogathon.
    Page

  21. My post isn’t coming together how I’d hoped,

  22. “5 Films That Changed the Way We View Sexuality” – my last post for the final day of the Queer Film Blogathon!
    http://thegreatkh.blogspot.com/2012/06/5-films-that-changed-way-we-view.html

  23. Sorry to be such a Johnny Come Lately! Here’s a post I did queering Prometheus by Ridley Scott. http://www.thequeerfilmblog.com/2012/06/queer-eye-for-straight-film-prometheus.html

  24. Some intriguing posts here. Glad to be part of this year’s blogathon.

  25. Hmmm. My comment cut off before I could finish. I meant to say that: